black midi – Cavalcade (Album)


black midi – Cavalcade  (Download Free album Zip)

Cavalcade is the upcoming second studio album by English rock band Black Midi, scheduled for release on 28 May 2021 through Rough Trade Records. It was primarily recorded in the summer of 2020 with producer John “Spud” Murphy, with the exception of one track which was recorded beforehand with Marta Salogni.

For Cavalcade, the band had a more premeditated approach to the writing and recording, as opposed to the improvisational approach taken for their debut studio album, Schlagenheim (2019). The opening track “John L” was released as a single in promotion of the album, followed by a louder mix of the fourth track “Slow”.

Cavalcade track listing
No. Title Length
1. “John L” 5:14
2. “Marlene Dietrich” 2:54
3. “Chondromalacia Patella” 4:48
4. “Slow” 5:37
5. “Diamond Stuff” 6:25
6. “Dethroned” 5:08
7. “Hogwash and Balderdash” 2:33
8. “Ascending Forth” 9:46
Total length: 42:25

Black Midi announced the details for Cavalcade on 23 March 2021, revealing its track listing and release date. On the same day, they released the album’s lead single, the opening track “John L”. A music video was also released for “John L”. The single was backed with the non-album track “Despair”. A 12-inch release for the single was made available for pre-order on 23 March and was released on 9 April.

Cavalcade is due for release on 28 May 2021 through Rough Trade Records. It will be released both digitally and physically, as a black vinyl, picture disc vinyl, CD, and cassette. Each pre-ordered vinyl copy of the album from either an independent record store, Rough Trade Shops, Rough Trade Records’ webstore, or Tower Records includes a flexi disc containing a cover version of a specific song, selected by fans, from a premade playlist; the Tower Records release includes a CD in place of a flexi disc.

The cover version is unique for each location, with separate covers being recorded for United States and United Kingdom-based independent record stores.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button